Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm Matt, and I'm in my last year of college. In May I'll be graduating with a BS in biology, and would like to work in a greenhouse somewhere, or something botany related. I'll be doing some serious job hunting for a position in SoCal, as I have friends there (in both San Diego and LA), but I would also like to work/live in the UK for a few years. Maybe permanently. My grandmother is London born and raised, but that doesn't seem to matter when applying for a visa. I know the economy has made it pretty tough on both sides of the pond, but in the states things are a lot better than they were during the initial recession in 2008. Does anyone know what the job market is like in my field (or related) in England right now? From what I can see I think I'd be happy living anywhere from Bristol east, or anywhere in the south.

Sorry if I was rambling, and I know this is a bit of a long shot, but it couldn't hurt to ask. I don't know where my future is taking me, but I've always wanted to live in either California or England, and I've only visited CA as an adult. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
2,022 Posts
Hi and welcome! I cannot help with the work question but do know you can get an ancestral visa through you grandmother so good luck

·
Registered
533 Posts
Mbeacham said: