Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
380 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How is everyone doing?

Well, I got into France on the 4th, mailed my OFII letter on the 11th and just received my letter from the OFII stating that they have received. Now I wait for an appointment! I received that letter fast, so I'm wondering if they will try to get me in there before vacation time in France! :p

I do have a bit of a question. I decided to possibly take a little part time job as a tutor/nanny for a family that lives in my neighborhood. Just something to do and for pocket money for my first year until I learn enough French. (I'm studying French everyday and thankfully my husband's patience has expanded considerably and now I practice with him every night just talking about my day, what I cooked, etc.)

Anyways, the family is of course declaring the job. Therefore, am I going to have to need a French social security number? Going through CPAM? Does anyone know anything about this and how it works. I am worried that I will have issues since my visa hasn't got the vignette from the OFII yet...but I was hoping that given the circumstances -since I'm married to a French citizen and will obviously be here for awhile- that I wouldn't have any issues.

Any help on this would be great! Thanks!

·
Administrator
50,415 Posts
Don't worry about it. Go in and talk to CPAM to ask them what you need to do. The process of getting a sécu number takes a while (though they can issue you a temporary number for the interim).

This is the page from Service Public: Immatriculation à la Sécurité sociale : premier emploi - Service-public.fr (Good practice for your French - and hubby can help you, too.) There is a section there for someone getting a sécu number based on their first employment. Don't offer up too much information - just give them what they ask you for - and take it one step at a time.