Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Does anyone know if CPA will grant a positive skills assessment if I am only an affiliate member of ACCA? I have not chalked up 3 years of working experience and hence am worried that CPA might not recognise my ACCA qualifications.
I also hold a degree in Statistics if that's any help to my assessment. Thank you!!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hi Smunt26

CPA will give you a positive skill assessment if you have cleared all the papers of ACCA, which I am sure you have as you are an affiliate.

I fear they will not recognize your work experience even if its in your occupation,

Work experience gained after admission to membership will count towards "skilled employment"

Do not confuse "skill assessment" with "skilled employment"

Regards

Siddiqui

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Siddiqui

Thanks for your help! I am not intending to get points for skilled employment. Just worries that CPA Aust would not grant a positive skills assessment if I am not a full fledged member of a professional accounting body.

·
Registered
798 Posts
@ Siddique!

Is it confirmed that SKilled employement will only be recognised after submission to Membership? As the CPA Website quotes

"CPA Australia recognises the exams of the following professional accounting bodies towards some core knowledge requirements:

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
,......"

In light of this i suppose that for ACCAs, any relevant post qualification experience would be counted towards skilled employment.

But if you have any such link from CPA, then please do share it with me.

Thanks.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I asked CPA Australia via email, and this was their reply :

Dear Mr A,

Thank you for your enquiry regarding your ACCA qualification.

I am happy to assist you with your enquiry.