Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally ignorant!

OK, got that up front.

I've never used or owned a mobile before, but apparently have to have one once in France. Personally, I hate the damn things, but...

How much do they cost (I'll pass on Apple iPhone X, or in fact Apple anything) to buy for nothing at all fancy? Is there a monthly service fee of some kind also?

·
Registered
4,909 Posts
Try google "portable moins cher". There are some good deals on the internet for basic (unsmart) phones and minimum usage tarifs. I pay 7€ per month. Anything above the small free calls are charged.

DejW

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
Just go with a Free '2 euros' a month contract. You have to buy a phone (from amazon or wherever) or you buy one secondhand. 100 euros will get you a reasonable phone.

Free mobile*: forfaits mobiles 4G+ sans engagement
I actually have to agree with Smeg here :eek: :p :)

I have that deal from Free although mine really is free because my ISP is Free and if you are a customer it costs nothing.

·
Administrator
50,411 Posts
Do give a bit of thought to what you want to do with a mobile phone. The 2€ a month deals from Free (and possibly also the other "cheap rate" phone providers - BandYou, Red, Sosh, etc.) may be all you need if you actually just want to use the phone for making and receiving the odd phone call. If you want to do all the fancy Internet stuff on your phone (and that can come in handy - but in my experience it takes a while before you decide you have a "need" for that sort of thing) then you may want to look at one of the more upscale offerings. But I'd still start out with the cheap rate providers.