Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to move to Japan at the begining of next year, and was hoping I could get some help.

A little background first, I intend on getting a job in Japan (though no translation/teaching type jobs), my Japanese is excellent and I have a degree in Japanese from my undergrad. I will also have a MBA, but very minimal work experience. My language ability is on the fluent level, so I'm not too concerned about communication with locals.

I'm trying to figure out the approximate cost of living for a single person in Tokyo. I will need to find an apartment, etc. and eventually negotiate for a salary, so I've been trying to do some research for how much it may cost to live there. I essentially would like to know what kind of base salary would allow me to live comfortably, and how much I would be able to spend on an apartment.

I would prefer to live in someplace reasonable (i.e. not a closet), and I believe I probably won't have many problems if I talk to local realtors, landlords, etc. Any sort of break down or advice would be much appreciated, and if there's any other information I can fill in please don't hesitate to ask.

As always guys, thanks for the help!

·
Administrator
50,374 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

I know folks here get tired of us harping on this, but have you worked out your visa situation yet? Friends of mine moved to Japan last year, and although they have traveled quite a bit over the years, they were surprised at how strict the Japanese visa procedures seem to be. Fortunately, the husband's company handled all that stuff for them, but it was a long (and I imagine expensive) process.

The Japanese Embassy has a very informative FAQ page here: Embassy of Japan which includes considerable detail about the various categories of working visas.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
39,103 Posts