Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my first post ! I am a Engineer from a Premium engg institute ( BITS ) and m working for one of the largest investment bank.
My fiancee has moved to Sgpore from her job and i m trying to land a job there.
Surprisingly, even with a strong profile and impressive resume( i guess ), i have been really frustrated with the way my application process has been going.

Have applied to numerous small/big firms but havent even got a call back for a interview. Are the times not that great in Sgp for Foreigners? I heard abt the policy getting strict day by day and hence i even tried with headhunters and consultants for a contract job..but even that is looking like a faint light...Will it help if i come to Sgp for a job hunt? what are the best ways to land a decent job out there?

·
Registered
2,461 Posts
the hard truth is, foreigners are not so welcome .. especially since many a foreigner decided to go to war with the natives.

Of course, the govt policy is not to stop foreigners, since they bring in investment and also more .. but MOM has tightened the policies, and it is now becoming the norm for those on 5 figure pay to be placed on P2 instead of P1 .. and those earning around 5K being placed on S Pass .. unlike good old days..

of course, if you are not here, agencies tend to throw your resume to KIV .. since if the client wants more details / interview it will be a pain ..

If you are worth it, then of course, you will be at the top of the pile ..

·
Registered
24 Posts
the hard truth is, foreigners are not so welcome .. especially since many a foreigner decided to go to war with the natives.