Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am 2 months new to the UAE, and having some trouble finding my birth control pill (ortho Tri Cyclen Lo). I understand that the contraceptive is not sold here, and for the past month I have been using the medical equivalent which is Cilest. Unfortunately, Cilest has now been taken off the shelf in a recall, and I'm left with no pills for next week. i understand the best option would be to see a doctor - however being so new to the country, i don't have this relationship established as yet. Anyone in a similar situation? Is there another substitute?

Thanks.

·
Registered
306 Posts
I have been using Marvelon (only 15dhs a pack) for 3 years and I have had absolutely NO issues, and I always buy 3-4 at a time. I don't know at all how it fares against the brands you've listed, but I have remembered searching it on the internet and it got some good reviews. However, I have never had any strange reactions to the pill as I know some women may have, so if you are really concerned, then it could be best to consult your doctor.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Forgot to add, if you are concerned about speaking to your doctor, just tell them you need it to regulate your cycle/acne/etc.

·
Registered
5,362 Posts
The one thing I have learned in the many years I have been living here is never to buy just one of anything I really like/want/need or similar. Stock up, stock up and stock up again ladies. Not just for the pill either :)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Did they say when cilest would be available again please?
Every pharmacy I went to had already taken it off the shelf. After A Google search it seems the company recalled all packets manufactured in and after 2011. BTW it was not a consumer level recall ..so nothing to worry about. Not sure when/if it will be back.

·
Registered
3,335 Posts