Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looks like we will make the move soon to a new life in France. We are looking at Dordogne or Lot. well, they are favourite anyway.
I am a roofer and lead worker by trade and run a company in the UK. I was wondering if need called what are the opportunities for finding part time work there?

Cheers

·
Administrator
50,375 Posts
What are you planning in terms of supporting yourselves in France? Finding "pick up" or part time work in France normally requires some sort of formal registration - for social insurances and such at the very least. If you'll be living from profits from your company in the UK, be careful how you set things up as the taxes and social charges can vary, depending on whether you're receiving "dividends" or other sorts of investment income.

And, as always, how is your French? You'll need that not only if and when you need to find part time work, but in general just to deal with administrative matters.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My French is pretty good. I have been learning for three years. I was planning to receive an income from my business in the UK - but nothing is guaranteed of course.
We will have other income to invest after selling property in the UK also.

Any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
4,909 Posts
Some points which may be helpful;

As Bev says artisans need certificates, insurance to be a bona fide worker. Anything less is risky.

From my experience French building techniques, tools, materials, cultures etc are very different from the UK. May or may not apply to your trade. Be prepared for differences.

Couvreurs seem to be in demand in France. I've got a distant French relative who is in the business - his only complaint it that he has too much work.