Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

im a Carpenter foreman from Scotland and i have been offered a position with a company in Christchurch.

Basically i would like to know what the work is like... is there plenty? is there an oppertunity to work lots of overtime? what should i expect for an hourly rate? etc...

thanks..

·
Registered
55 Posts
Hi

im a Carpenter foreman from Scotland and i have been offered a position with a company in Christchurch.

Basically i would like to know what the work is like... is there plenty? is there an oppertunity to work lots of overtime? what should i expect for an hourly rate? etc...

thanks..
there is plenty of work at the minute, some overtime available. It just depends who you work for. I'm a carpenter also & i get $25 an hour which is the going rate. You may get a few dollars a more per hour but only after being here a while. Expect to work hard but not like a slave if you know what i mean. Your offer isn't with Farrell by any chance?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hey Mitchell,

you are seeking the same advice as me..........

Added you to contacts so I could have a chat to you about your job offer and just general stuff about your question but think you maybe need to accept before i can PM you.

·
Registered
889 Posts
Hey Mitchell,

Added you to contacts so I could have a chat to you about your job offer and just general stuff about your question but think you maybe need to accept before i can PM you.
You can only send PM's after making 5 posts, the same applies to the other person.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey Mitchell,

have you been offered a position over there Stevie?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7