Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, hope you're all well! My husband has finally managed to persuade me into considering moving to the UAE and I am actually quite excited at the prospect of discovering and experiencing a new kind of life!
My issue is I am an unqualified teacher so I don't have QTS. I was trained at a private school in the UK upto outstanding but simce they weren't a schools direct registered school, I don't have any formal teaching recognition/qualification.
I have a degree plus teaching experience of 18 months amd a further 3yrs working in the ducation sector. I've left it a little late to get onto a salaried schools direct course there's nothing available on UCAS clearing and I've called individual schools.
The TEFL course has now been bought to my attention. I don't know much about it and I'd like to know what teaching/work prospects would be available if I posess a sociology degree, teaching experience amd a TEFL qualification? Would this be enough to secure me a sponsored teaching position without a pgce or QTS?

I just don't want to wait another full year to get onto a job offering QTS as this would delay our plans to move by two yrs
Hope this makes sense and apologies for the extremly looooong message!

·
Registered
21 Posts
Would a TEFL certificate suffice for a job aspirant of any nationality or just the ones from countries with English as a first language?

·
Registered
39 Posts
I certainly can't claim to be very knowledgeable about this, but from the brief searching that I did and the two sites I posted above, my impression is that they really seem to want you to have a bachelor's degree in addition to any TEFL certification. After that, it seems that if you have any teaching experience that is an added plus. Mulla might know more by now though.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Dear Mulla,