Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All!

After recently looking into the housing market where me and my Girlfriend are based (Surrey), we've only been met with high housing prices and very large deposits, a bit of an issue for us!

We're both relatively young (I am 23, she is 21), and are looking into the idea of working in Dubai for 2+ years and saving, whilst also getting to enjoy living somewhere new, enjoying a new culture etc.

A few questions:

1.) Neither of us are university graduates. My girlfriend currently works as a receptionist for a serviced office chain and has a level 3 NVQ in childcare, whilst I am an account manager with 3 years of experience in the Software industry, and a Level 3 NVQ in Customer Service. A lot I have seen job wise really makes it seem Dubai is a degree focused are to work in.

2.) We're not married and looking to live in the same place! I've seen mixed things on this so far, but would love to hear from anyone else in the same position.

3.) Healthcare wise, my girlfriend suffers from Crohns Disease. She currently has to pay for medication here, are costs similar, and are the same drugs available in both areas?

4.) Recruitment agencies! If anyone has any good experience with Agencies please let me know!

All in all, we want to make sure we're making the right decision, so looking at actually leaving around the end of the year 2016 (so i'll be 25, she'll be 22). If anyone can help, this would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
449 Posts
Everything seems against you: no money to make cheque payments for housing, not a hell of a lot of working experience, no university degrees, etc...

I suggest you stay in UK for about 10 years. Build your CV and then come to Dubai for 2 years. You'll be able to save up much more, enjoy life more and have a better overall experience.

Don't worry. Dubai will be here for a while.

·
Registered
6 Posts