Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am moving to Dubai soon and I am wondering what the driving commute is like from Marina to Silicon Oasis in the mornings/evenings, or if it would be wiser to live in Silicon Oasis (where I will also be working), and then travel into Dubai itself on weekends.

I have heard that living in Silicon Oasis is very residential, is this still the case? I am a young professional and will be living alone, so I am very keen to make friends and have an active social life, and to be able to pop out for a coffee or food if I fancy it on weekends/evenings without having to drive everywhere.

I have tried to do some research, but a lot of the answers are older now, and I can imagine change is pretty rapid in Dubai...!!

Thank you in advance for your help!

·
Registered
653 Posts
Hello!

I am moving to Dubai soon and I am wondering what the driving commute is like from Marina to Silicon Oasis in the mornings/evenings, or if it would be wiser to live in Silicon Oasis (where I will also be working), and then travel into Dubai itself on weekends.

I have heard that living in Silicon Oasis is very residential, is this still the case? I am a young professional and will be living alone, so I am very keen to make friends and have an active social life, and to be able to pop out for a coffee or food if I fancy it on weekends/evenings without having to drive everywhere.

I have tried to do some research, but a lot of the answers are older now, and I can imagine change is pretty rapid in Dubai...!!

Thank you in advance for your help!
Hi,

Driving time should be 35-45 min with moderate traffic.

Staying in Silicon Oasis is better, rent is on lower side, but you need to check proper buildings with maintenance and chiller free apartment. The difference in rent you can spurge on weekends, which will take care of the Taxi too(In case you are drinking).