Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

To start with, female, I'm 25 and originally from Croatia (currently living in London, UK).

I've been thinking of moving to either Vancouver or Toronto next Autumn or Spring and wondering what is the best way to apply for a visa. I'm not a skilled worker, i.e., I don't have a degree. I've been working as a child-minder/carer for 4 years and personal assistant and customer support for 1 year now.

Because of the experience and references I guess I could easily get a Live-in Caregiver visa but then I'd do the same job again, which I don't want..

Then I read somewhere that I can also get a TFW visa and I don't have to be a skilled worker.

I also have a CELTA certificate (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) but I'm not sure that would be a plus as Canada is already an English speaking country...

The thing I've been wondering is: what kind of jobs can someone with TFW visa (expect to) get? Is it construction, waiting in a restaurant, cleaning...? I don't want to sound snobbish but I can't afford to work and live on a bare minimum because I also partially support my family financially.

Another thing is: should I apply for a visa from my country or once I'm in the Canada? I'm not sure there'd be an employer who'd be willing to go through the process of visa application and LMO for an unskilled worker while they're still overseas.
What do you think? How easy/hard it is to find an employer who is willing to do that?

Because of that I've been thinking of coming to Canada as a visitor (I don't need a visa to come as a visitor, I checked on the website), see how I like it, look for a job and if I find one I'd apply for a visa. But it's always a risk to go to a foreign country (and far away!) without a job...

Thank you!

·
Registered
304 Posts