Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, i apologise in advance if this question has already been answered (or something similar) but i failed to find it when i looked.

I have rented a home in France since late April 2008, this house is solely used as a holiday home (fishing retreat) for myself when i am in Europe. i also use the house as a staging post for when i go to the UK to visit my daughter.

I have received a letter this week from the local tax office asking for a declaration of income for the year 2008.

I am a self employed consultant and i work all over the world (And i mean ALL OVER) as a result of this i have not worked in France, nor worked for a French company and not paid any wages into a French bank account. I have also spent less than 183 days in France during 2008.

My principal residence is in the Philippines, this is also a rented house that is rented in my partners name as she is local there. As a result of this it is very difficult to obtain any official papers showing that i actually have a residence there, all i have are all the stamps in my passport showing i am visiting several times a year.

I am not sure what response to give to the demand for my income for 2008 as i dont beleive i qualify as a french tax resident at all for the following reasons,

1. I spent less than 183 days in France
2. I have no employment in France
3. I paid no income in France
4. I have no assets in France
5. I do not consider France to be my main residence
6. The bank account i have in France is only for direct debits to cover the holiday home (i dont even have a cash card or cheque book)

I hold a UK passport and have been a non resident for over five years from there.