Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone

Im a newbie driver looking for some advice on buying a car. Im considering both Civic and Corolla as of now, and have test driven both, but im still a bit confused.

I dont know how I should go about with buying the car. Civic is providing more safety and more options (cruise control, rear camera, parking sensors) but Corolla is more cheaper and has less options.

Which car should i buy considering the dubai roads and everyday use (home to office and back and other tiny distances)

Ive looked into used car options too but im worried since it may be more risky to buy a used one than a new car.

Any advice on above and maintenance/service of both the cars would be great :D

Thanks!

·
Registered
253 Posts
I don't think there's much to tell between them. They are both very well built reliable Japanese cars. The maintenance will be very similar I would suspect, so personally I would speak to the dealers and find out which will give you the best deal (including service, insurance etc) and then work out which will be worth the most when you come to sell and then choose based either on the best resale value or the best deal now.

·
Registered
451 Posts
So why don't you compare the higher options corolla to the civic you are looking at. The corolla offers a 2 liters engine with higher torque than the civic's 1.8 L engine.

I'd buy the corolla, also better resale value.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi

Did compare the full options 1.6 corolla to base civic, but base civic is offering me parking sensors and such other fancy options, what do i take into consideration? i dont know since ive never bought a car before and dont want to be tricked just because of marketing gimmicks!

thanks for the torque info!