Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First post on here, sorry if it is a bit long. I am looking at my options (have been for many years in truth) and I am of the understanding that I have a high demand skill for the purposes of the the Christchurch rebuild. Accordingly I am seriously looking at the prospect of working in Chch for 1 or 2 years. However, whilst I am used to working away on my own etc, this will be a huge decision, especially as the relocation to work here will be taken alone. I have friends who have previously worked in NZ who are back in the UK right now, but may relocate again in the future so I have some second hand knowledge. But my questions are; has anyone on here relocated to Chch on their own, relocated for the purposes of the rebuild, and/or relocated to Chch for a new start? If so I would love to hear from you with any hints/tips/advice/realities and experiences. There are ulterior motives for choosing Chch with respect to the outdoor activites too, what is the reality for access to the ski hills and bike trails? That will do for now I think!

Thanks

·
Registered
54 Posts
has anyone on here relocated to Chch on their own, relocated for the purposes of the rebuild, and/or relocated to Chch for a new start? If so I would love to hear from you with any hints/tips/advice/realities and experiences.
I have just moved to Christchurch for the rebuild - well, technically my husband's here for the rebuild and I'm just a tag-along. Workwise (my husband is a carpenter) it is very, very busy, though by the looks of it majority or work hasn't even started yet. Some guys with several years of building experience and carpentry diplomas are joking that they are the best paid cleaners in Christchurch - lots of floor sweeping and odd jobs at full-on carpentry rates.