Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear All

My situation is that i am doing masters degree in Germany, while i am studying, i have been offered a job from a company in Germany and i have already signed a contract with them. But my problem is, i will have to change my visa status from student to work visa in order to work full time with my company.

I would like to know if it is possible, as i was told that it is possible if i take my contract to Auslander Buro and show them them that i have offered a job and i am interested to change my visa.

Please confirm if it is possible or what would be the procedure. I have heard that it is possible, but don't know how.

I can quit masters for my job. As it is a good opportunity for me.

Your help will be appreciated greatly.

·
Registered
2,928 Posts
Don't in fact know. Best advice would be to make an appointment at the Ausländerbehörde and ask them if it's possible.

Signing the contract before knowing whether you could change your visa was a little premature on your part, but then it was also silly of the company to write one up without first knowing your status. An offer letter might have been sufficient to obtain a work permit.

·
Super Moderator
1,871 Posts
Dear All

My situation is that i am doing masters degree in Germany, while i am studying, i have been offered a job from a company in Germany and i have already signed a contract with them. But my problem is, i will have to change my visa status from student to work visa in order to work full time with my company.

I would like to know if it is possible, as i was told that it is possible if i take my contract to Auslander Buro and show them them that i have offered a job and i am interested to change my visa.

Please confirm if it is possible or what would be the procedure. I have heard that it is possible, but don't know how.