Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone- I am an American student in France, legally here on a second year student visa and titre de sejour. I married a french citizen last month. My current student titre de sejour does not expire until August 2014. I am not registered for school this year as we had to move quickly due to a change in my partners job. My issue is this: I have no health insurance as a student as I did not complete all the required paperwork last year. I also cannot get any health insurance as a student since I am not attending school this year. I think that in order to get any insurance, I will need to change my titre de sejour to a spouse one instead of a student. However, the prefuncture here said that in order to do that, I must go back to the U.S. I cannot do that at this point and really need insurance as I'm pregnant. Is there any way to change the status of a titre de sejour without having to return to the US? Or any sort of emergency health insurance that would cover doctors visits until I could return? Is a change in titre de sejour status the same as a change in visa status? Thanks so much Bev and anyone else for any help!

·
Administrator
49,988 Posts
Officially, you can only change your status from a long-stay visa to that of spouse - and that only when your current long-stay titre de séjour expires.