1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I wanted to know if you could provide me with some information related
to changing my job.

I have been working for a company in Dubai Internet City for the last 3 months .

I am still under my probationary period.

Can I change my job to another company that is based in DIFC?

The new company is not a competitor with my company.

My current employer has also kept my passport, which I have read is
illegal under TECOM law?

Could you tell me if it would be possible for me to take up the new
job, without any ban being imposed?

Kind Regards

·
Registered
130 Posts
There is no ban as you don't deal with MOL.
Not sure how it works for the same Free Zone thou as the Authority regulating the Labour is the same. You may want to give them a call and check yourself.
Keeping the passport is illegal everywhere, not only in the freezone, that doesn't mean it's not happening.

·
Registered
37 Posts
There is no ban as you don't deal with MOL.
Not sure how it works for the same Free Zone thou as the Authority regulating the Labour is the same. You may want to give them a call and check yourself.
Keeping the passport is illegal everywhere, not only in the freezone, that doesn't mean it's not happening.
The ban with the MOL is the six month "Job Ban" - you can re-enter the UAE, and apply for jobs and be employed in any of the free zones without any issue. This ban only affects you if get selected to companies coming under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Labour - for which you will have to wait for 6 months from the date of cancellation of the Labour Card (not 6 months from the date of exit from the UAE).