Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

It's been 1 month only that I have moved to Dubai. I just love this place but not the company I am working at. The role offered is quite different from what was promised during the interview. Company is an LLC. Company got my Visa and Work Permit done. The role position is Marketing Executive in the contract. As per the contract bond amount for two years is 20,000 AED.

My question is that:

1. Is it possible to change job (assuming I get a better job) during the probation period? Will I get an employment ban?

2. In case I get a ban, can the new employer get it removed and hire me for the job? (I am an engineer and have done my MBA, got placed in this company through college recruitment process)

3. As per what I read on the UAE Labour law website I am not required to serve one month notice period during probation. Is my understanding correct?

Please let me know this as I am really desperate now to move out of this organization. Any help will be really appreciated. Help guys!!!:(:(:(

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,965 Posts
As per the contract bond amount for two years is 20,000 AED
Hi,
Welcome to the forum.
What is the bond that you mentioned?
You should be able to resign during the probation period - with no penalties.
Is your visa stamped already and do you have your passport?
Cheers
Steve

·
Registered
4,052 Posts
I am guessing that the "bond"is a penalty which you would need to pay if you leave the job within two years. It is contractual (and may be illegal) and most likely not clear cut - which would mean that there is a high probability that you would need to pay this amount.