Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

This is my first time starting a post on this forum. I wrote a short introduction in the "Introduce yourself" thread, but I will write a short introduction here as well. I was born and raised in New York City in the United States. I lived there for most of my life, but I always wanted to travel, so when I finished school I moved to South Korea, then to Japan. Then I travel to about 22 countries including Italy.

I then moved back to the States to get my master's degree in translation (Japanese to English) and to live my life as a translator located in the US. However, I have fallen in love with an Italian man who was here on assignment. He must now return to Italy and I will be joining him next year.

I will obviously need a visa to stay longer than 90 days and I initially thought that my only option was to get a job as an English teacher. It is most certainly doable for me as I have a TEFL certificate and over 5 years ESL teaching experience. However, It is incredibly difficult to find a school that will sponsor a work visa.

I recently discovered that there is a visa for freelancers (business person/merchants/artisans) that I can qualify for and so I will apply for this one instead. I fit all of the requirements (which I found on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website).

I need advice on one of the requirements. It reads

"statement describing the parameters of the economic resources required to carry out the said business, commercial or artisan activity, issued by the Chamber of Commerce authorised for the area in which the activity is to be carried out. "

So basically, I need some document from the Chamber of Commerce in Italy that describes the money I need to to be a freelancer in Torino.

Has anyone had to get a similar document before? Do you know how to get this document.