Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I want to start writing my CDR for engineers Australia for immigration purposes, however,I am a mechanical engineer, working as a project engineer.

The problem is that there is no Project engineer in the SOL list.

What do you advice?

·
Registered
131 Posts
I think your job title doesnt matter. As long as your job description involves a mechanical engineer's qualifications and duties, it is fine. My husband is a mechanical engineer, his job titles were "workshop deputy manager, workshop manager and now shift engineer". We couldnt decide which one to choose 'plant or production' or mechanical, as the EA explanation for both were very similar. And to be on the safe side we applied as Mec.eng.

In your cdrs you will explain how you carry out engineering duties in detail and EA will decide accordingly.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Hello All,

I want to start writing my CDR for engineers Australia for immigration purposes, however,I am a mechanical engineer, working as a project engineer.

What do you advice?
First you'll need to read Migration Skill Assessment booklet thoroughly. When you finish, read it again three more times :)

Your nominated occupation (occupation which you're applying for) is not determined by your job title or your work experience, but only by your diploma (title and duration of the course)

I'm also Mechanical Engineer in my country, hence I've applied for Mechanical Engineer. I was not recognized as Mechanical Engineer, but as Engineering Technologist. The reason why is because my university course was a three-year course instead of a four-year course, which is the main condition in order for one to be recognized as a Professional Engineer.

Your diploma and duration of your education will determine your nominated occupation

·
Registered
24 Posts

·
Registered
748 Posts