Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a permanent resident in South Africa and I am trying to find information on the Capital Gains Tax situation when selling a property in the UK. I recently inherited a small flat in Kent and am in the process of selling it. I will not pay CGT in the UK as I am now considered to be a non-resident having been away for many years, however that exemption is due to change next year. I heard somewhere that I will have to pay CGT on the sale to SARS but I believe that there is a threshold amount which might exempt me. I have tried in vain to find relevant info on Google and my query to SARS was recorded and a response should have arrived 'within 21 days' with no luck!
Is there anyone in the Forum who may have had a similar situation or possess some knowledge and may be able to shed a bit of light on the subject for me?
Thanks
Tom

·
Registered
126 Posts
I've sold a property in the UK in preparation for our move back to CT. Since it was our main home in which we lived no CGT was payable, however, I decided to leave the money in a UK bank account i.e. current account until I decided how and where to invest it in the UK. Do not repatriate the money back to SA, you can transfer money via internet banking into your own bank account. I can for instance with my Natwest account transfer up to £75000 for £10, this is because I am transferring money into my SA account, it greatly minimizes the costs. You can also withdraw money at SA cash machines with a UK bankcard. This way I've stayed out of SARS grasping claws.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3