Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a quick question, I work for 1.5 years in my first job back in 1997-1999 as a mechanic, before leaving to go into IT industry. No I am back to being a mechanic I feel it is relevant experience, however the company has long since shut down as it was a small family workshop so I have no way of proving I worked there.

I even sent my mother round to my old bosses house but he apparently moved on some 6 years ago. :mad:

She did however find out that they actually sold the business on to a new owner but he moved it to a new site altogether and has no idea who I am.

So do I just leave it out of my work history

·
Registered
8,429 Posts
Hi Barry, if you got no way of proving it, letters, salary slips etc, u got no choice but to leave it. would you be knowing any colleagues from that time?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have nothing as it was so long ago, I don't keep in touch with any old work mates from there either but I may be able to track them down, how would that help?

Barry

·
Registered
8,429 Posts
They can give references. any old customers, they can give references too and you can give a stat dec stating the company has closed now

·
Registered
619 Posts
I have nothing as it was so long ago, I don't keep in touch with any old work mates from there either but I may be able to track them down, how would that help?

Barry
Yes, try and track old work mates down. 2 good places to start are facebook, and friendsreunited, if you remember their names of course :)

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So if I get it right, I can get old workmates to do a Stat Dec that they worked with me or do I just need a reference letter from them?

·
Registered
14,309 Posts