Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Hoping to get some advice or support here.

I am a British citizen who has been living in the US since I was 13. I am now 44.

My wife and I decided to move to the UK to be closer to my family. We have 2 children, both British passport holders.

We are now faced, however, with not being able to get my wife a spouse visa. I do not have a "job" to go to in the UK. I work in the movie/TV business, and am technically self employed, although I do get some payroll income. I intend to work in the same industry in the UK. My typical income is significantly above the minimum requirements, but since I do not have a "guarantee of employment", and no such thing exists in this business, I can't meet the financial requirement in the UK. An I don't have £65k sitting in the bank to meet the saving requirement. Even if I were to try to save that, it needs to be sitting in my account for 6 months. We plan to move in June.

How is it that if I were French or German, I could easily relocate to the UK and bring my non-EU wife in under a EEA permit for FREE. But as UK citizen, I can't move to the UK and bring in my wife of 17 years! Even if I were allowed, the visa is £851!!

Anyway - what do you suggest? I have thought of having her travel in as a visitor, which gives her 6 months (can't work - which is ok for now), but if we all show up together with one way plane tickets, she could be denied entrance if they don't believe she will go back. It'll be clear we are moving there. And even if I do get a job and accumulate enough savings, she'll have to fly back to the US to apply for a spouse visa, and stay here until the application is complete and then buy a ticket to return.

This all seems pretty crazy.

Robert

·
Registered
18 Posts