Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

I moved to Dubai 2 months ago with my husband ( i graduated this July and have a degree from UK) and basically i cant get a job! Ive studied Arabic, which i thought would really work here but, nobody seems to be hiring me, I had like 8 interviews and nothing so far.I think the problem is my lack of experience in Dubai, but then how am i gonna get it if nobody is giving me a chance? Or offering a 5000 dirham salary for 6 days a week!

Am i being unreasonable? My husband keeps asking me to be patient, but then im sick and tired of being at home!

Any advice will be appreciated.

·
Registered
279 Posts
I moved to Dubai 2 months ago with my husband ( i graduated this July and have a degree from UK) and basically i cant get a job! Ive studied Arabic, which i thought would really work here
the market is plenty of native Arabic speakers for obvious reason, so in all honesty I hope you have other assets for the job market other than being a fresh graduate ...

yes, unfortunately the basic jobs like sales clerk , barman, command a relatively little pay and long working hours .... if you speak russian you could try the hospitality sector ...

·
Registered
177 Posts
Because racism is funny

Summerglow, what degree do you have? If you finished it July this year I assume you have zero relevant work experience, so maybe taking that 5k job is not really below you. I’m just saying, none of us started on the packages we are on now straight out of uni hey

·
Registered
86 Posts
Can I come to Dubai again as my previous visa was cancelled before stamped due to medical reasons. Now what if I come after 4 months and get another job. Is there any type of ban on me? My previous visa was not stamped on passport.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·