Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi there forum,

i am a canadian permanent resident, want to study in uk.

i hav some basic questions:

1. how much money do i need to show up for applying visa? can i show these funds as the money in my parents account who live in india, with a letter of support from them, declaring that i can use these funds as & when required?

2. as my daughter needs to go to school, will her education be paid or free in uk?

3. will my wife be able to work full time while our stay?

4. can i apply for a work permit after completion of my studies? if yes, do i need to show a job on hand for that?

thnx in advance guys

goldy verma
canada

·
Registered
39,105 Posts
hi there forum,

i am a canadian permanent resident, want to study in uk.

i hav some basic questions:

1. how much money do i need to show up for applying visa? can i show these funds as the money in my parents account who live in india, with a letter of support from them, declaring that i can use these funds as & when required?
For university degree course, you need first year's tuition fees plus £1,000 a month in living costs and £650 per family member when studying in inner London, or £800 and £450 when studying elsewhere. You need a letter from your parents stating your relationship to them and their permission to use their funds.

2. as my daughter needs to go to school, will her education be paid or free in UK?
Yes, in state (maintained) school.

3. will my wife be able to work full time while our stay?
Yes, but her potential income can't be taken into account in calculating the availability of funds, as also your income through spare-time work (up to 20 hours/week in term time).

4. can i apply for a work permit after completion of my studies? if yes, do i need to show a job on hand for that?