Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, I'm a Canadian considering a move to Sydney with my wife who has a job offer there. I currently work in the finance industry in Toronto. I'm struggling with the idea of moving there. I’m also having a hard time getting a sense of how big the Finance Industry in Sydney actually is. I have completed the CFA and have an MBA from one of the top schools in Canada. I have previously worked in London and NYC, but I’ve heard from people that ‘Australian work experience’ is a big deal

How big of a deal is it really? And would anyone be able to shed some light on the differences in the scale/size/nature of the finance industry in Toronto vs. Sydney? I would appreciate any advice/comments.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Hey there, I'm a Canadian considering a move to Sydney with my wife who has a job offer there. I currently work in the finance industry in Toronto. I'm struggling with the idea of moving there. I’m also having a hard time getting a sense of how big the Finance Industry in Sydney actually is. I have completed the CFA and have an MBA from one of the top schools in Canada. I have previously worked in London and NYC, but I’ve heard from people that ‘Australian work experience’ is a big deal

How big of a deal is it really? And would anyone be able to shed some light on the differences in the scale/size/nature of the finance industry in Toronto vs. Sydney? I would appreciate any advice/comments.
It depends who you talk to.

You indicated that your wife has a job offer in Sydney. I assume that she has doesn't have local Australian experience.

But from what I have seen, many employers prefer local experience.

The more you can show that your experience & qualifications match with what the employer is looking for the better your chances. Show the employers that you are using the same systems, same methods, same terminology .... etc.