Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope this is the right forum to ask the following; I'm a Canadian working in France and will eventually return home...some day. I work as a contractor which means I've not given up my residency in Canada nor have I cut all ties with Canada. I've been abroad now for two years and will most likely make my return to Canada in the next year. I've accumulated a few things in the last two years and was wondering what would happen if I tried to bring all my belongs back to Canada. Will there be duties or taxes? I'd like to bring back my wine collection as well, would there be a limit as to how much I'll be able to bring back?

Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I don't think that your status for tax impacts on how the Canada Border Services Agency views you. To them you will be a returning resident. There's quite a bit of information on their website. Information about moving back to Canada

We just returned to Canada in June, having been away 4 years. As we arrived at passport control we announced we were returning residents and were asked to go off to a side area. We had an itemized list of our "goods to follow" as per the instructions on their website which they read through, asked a couple of questions, then stamped and we were on our way. As it was a full container, the customs clearance was handled by our shipping agent and all we were required to do was supply our stamped inventory.