Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, first time posting! I did a search but didn't find all the relevant information.

I'm planning on emigrating from Germany, where I currently live, to Australia to live with my girlfriend. I'm a 26-year old electrical engineer, educated in Canada. I hold two passports, Canadian and German. My degree is of course accredited and a part of the Washington Accord.

I have about 10 months pre-graduation co-op experience, plus over 3 years post-grad experience with a consulting firm. I've now been working in Germany for about seven months and by the time I leave for Australia ~Feb 2014, I will have about 14 or 15 months in Germany (total ~5 years). I've worked mostly in power systems (HVAC and HVDC) and control & automation (PLCs, motors, etc).

My girlfriend is Australian born and educated, currently working for the federal government in Brisbane. She's looking for a big career change and has applied to medical schools in Brisbane, Perth, and Adelaide.

1. Employment prospects - I don't think I'll have much of a problem finding work in most places, but especially not in Perth. I hear that although it's isolated from the rest of the country, it's quite a great city with lots of work. Any comments on this?

2. Visa Options - I have several options it appears, including the subclass 189, 190, 417 (working holiday), 489, and partner sponsorship (309/100). They are all quite expensive, but that's typically Australia, and seems to be no other option. What's the difference between the 190 and 489, besides the 4-year limit of the 489???

3. Visa Points - If I'm sponsored by a state, I have 75 points. If not, I have 70. If I want to go full on into the permanent, unresistricted 189, I would have 70 points. Any thoughts on how good of a shot this is? What is a good, competitive points count?