Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is this actually possible? Please read...

My husband and I have been together since Oct 2009. We can officially prove we have lived together in the UK since April 2010 (joint tenancy agreement) and we've been married 6 years now. We could not apply for a spouse visa immediately because I was an unemployed student under the age of 21. My husband's spouse visa expires in Sept 2017 and we'll be applying for an extension using the Category F financial requirements. We went to see an accountant today to get the required documents and he surprised us by saying he has seen people with similar circumstances to ours get ILR instead of an extension based on - length of time married and living together (more than the 5 years they actually require) and our financial situation / the fact we have both never claimed any benefits. He also recommended we go in person to apply.

Would an immigration lawyer be worth investing in to achieve ILR?

Any advice / info will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
39,244 Posts
The answer is no. In order to be eligible for ILR, your husband needs to be under the 5-year family route (i.e. spouse visa) for 5 years and living most of that time with you in UK. Prior to July 2012, you only needed to be on visa for 2 years before eligible for ILR, but that changed on 9th July 2012 when 5-year route came in. Any time prior to getting spouse visa isn't taken into account, even if he was on another visa. On getting spouse visa, the 5-year clock was re-set.

·
Super Moderator
5,202 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That's what I thought, Joppa. Very annoying.