Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to this site but myself and hubbie are wanting to migrate to NZ in about three years when our daughter has finished University. I am an Occupational Therapist so would be looking to come over as a skilled worker. My daughter will be 23 years old when we are considering coming over. I will 51 years :eek: by then!!

·
Super Moderator
4,930 Posts
Reactions: Barfooj

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmm! Thanks. Only sticking point is that parents must already be 'lawfully and permanently resident'. We wouldn't qualify as this. Am finding it hard to get any information as to whether she can come with us or not! Any suggestions where I may find this info?

·
Super Moderator
4,930 Posts
Hmm! Thanks. Only sticking point is that parents must already be 'lawfully and permanently resident'. We wouldn't qualify as this. Am finding it hard to get any information as to whether she can come with us or not! Any suggestions where I may find this info?
Immigrations Operations Manual. Can be found online via the INZ website. It's difficult to read as it's all legal jargon but no doubt the answers will be there. There is a specific area for the skilled migrant category resident visa.
Open up the website and type operations manual in the site search box.

Reactions: Barfooj

·
Registered
386 Posts
I'm under the impression that if your daughter is over 18, then she will be treated as a separate immigrant and thus would need to apply for immigration under her own entity. Unless she is dependent on you for income etc currently. But I'm not 100% certain.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks I suppose it depends on what financially dependent means e.g. no job, no benefits. She is at Uni so is dependent currently!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·