Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'd appreciate your thoughts on my situation.

I'm a British citizen living in Tokyo and I want to return to the UK with my wife, who is Japanese.

I am a freelance translator, but all my work is for one company who pay me every month, and over the last twelve months I have earned enough to satisfy the financial requirement. I also have a signed letter from the head of the company I work for saying they are happy to keep on sending me work once I get to the UK, and guaranteeing me a minimal amount of work per month going forward (sufficient to meet the financial requirement).

Can I apply under category B? Or do I have to go through category F because I am technically self-employed? I can't yet apply through category F because I have only been working self-employed since May 2016 and the Japanese financial year runs Jan-Dec, i.e. I have not yet completed a full Jan-Dec year and filed a tax return for it.

Thanks!

·
Registered
228 Posts
Hello everyone, I'd appreciate your thoughts on my situation.

I'm a British citizen living in Tokyo and I want to return to the UK with my wife, who is Japanese.

I am a freelance translator, but all my work is for one company who pay me every month, and over the last twelve months I have earned enough to satisfy the financial requirement. I also have a signed letter from the head of the company I work for saying they are happy to keep on sending me work once I get to the UK, and guaranteeing me a minimal amount of work per month going forward (sufficient to meet the financial requirement).