Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm a qualified chartered accountant from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Pakistan (ICAP), having qualified in Dec 2007 and admitted as a member of the institute on Dec 2008. As part of the CA program, we have to undergo a 4 yrs training program with an approved audit firm. Thus, I was under a paid and full time training contract (NOTE: not employment) with PwC Karachi Office from Dec 2004 to Nov 2008 during the course of the CA program.

My question is that whether this 4 yrs training be considered 'specific work experience requirement (3 out of 4 yrs)' of DIAC or not?

Thanks!

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
Hi asadmasad,

I think you'll have to check with DIAC and the governing body for accountants in Australia on this one. I'm assuming that as with most professions your skills will need to be assessed and it's that body that you may want to contact for clarification.

It looks like you have several choices from this page Accountant 2211-11 - Australian Skills Recognition Information.

Let us know how you get on.

Regards,
Karen

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi asadmasad,

I think you'll have to check with DIAC and the governing body for accountants in Australia on this one. I'm assuming that as with most professions your skills will need to be assessed and it's that body that you may want to contact for clarification.
Thanks Karen for the reply. But I've already checked these sources without any definite answer. Being a member of ICAP, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia will give a positive skills assessment for me. Have mailed to DIAC 2 weeks before, but no answer yet!

Anyone with a similar experience here??

·
Registered
21 Posts
You will have to get your skills assessed first from an assessment authority. For accountants its either NIA or ICAA.