Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been thinking of buying a car, most second hand cars in the Philippines are very expensive I would like a Ford Ranger because I live on a farm and during the wet season very hard to access with a normal car. I checked out the price between a secondhand Ford and a brand new one and I believe its best buying a new Ford. I went to my BPI bank and asked about a loan as I have been banking with BPI for five years and my pension goes into the BPI as well. The lady at BPI informed me Foreigners cannot get a loan, I did not ask if my filipna wife could apply because the lady was very busy at that time. Has anyone have any ideas, otherwise I will buy a secondhand car.

·
Registered
672 Posts
I bought a new Hyundai Tucson last July and I am a foreigner. I did it through my BDO branch. I have been here since 2010 and still on a Tourist Visa.

Chuck

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi bidrod I heard BDO was better than BPI, I will change banks and have a chat with them, thanks mate

·
Registered
672 Posts
I have an Aussie buddy here in the subdivision and he bought a new van through BPI, think it is possibly just the person you talked to is the problem. I deal directly with my branch manager and never have a problem, even got a BDO credit card and the car loan I got at 68 years old.

Chuck

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
maybe it was just the person I spoke to as the lady at BPI was in a hurry, I will try talking to the manage and see what happens thanks Chuck.

·
Registered
6,007 Posts
You're a long way from Luzon Island but if you can manage a trip to Subic Bay there are vehicle auctions there on 2nd hand cars, buses, and trucks. Most are converted from right to left hand drive and have known people that have bought there. From what I've been told they had good luck.