Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a senior architect moving soon to Dubai. I am looking for an opportunity to develop a small residential project.
Anyone had ever bought and developed a single plot in DUBAI?
I know that foreigners are not allowed to buy a land but they can buy an apartment.
So, do you think is it possible to find one or a few local co-investor in order to develop a small area (let's say a small townhouse or a 3~4 villas block or similar).
Anyone with similar experience?
Thanks!

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
Fascinating idea. I've had the same thought myself as the standard of residential architecture is pretty piss-poor and there's all these empty plots in prime locations like Jumeira.

But you're right in that foreigners aren't allowed to buy empty plots in Dubai. They can only buy off-plan in designated freehold areas, but there's one area that I'm aware of expats building a house to their own design and that's Emirates Hills.

Your best bet is to find a local with a plot to develop and go into partnership with him. He provides the land while you design the houses. It should be possible but the trick is finding the local.

Hi, I am a senior architect moving soon to Dubai. I am looking for an opportunity to develop a small residential project.
Anyone had ever bought and developed a single plot in DUBAI?
I know that foreigners are not allowed to buy a land but they can buy an apartment.
So, do you think is it possible to find one or a few local co-investor in order to develop a small area (let's say a small townhouse or a 3~4 villas block or similar).
Anyone with similar experience?
Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,963 Posts
Fascinating idea. I've had the same thought myself as the standard of residential architecture is pretty piss-poor and there's all these empty plots in prime locations like Jumeira.