Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie on the forum and would be grateful for any input on my current quandary.

My Fiancé and I are looking to relocate to France either Brittany or Normandy as we would ideally like to be not too far from the UK for visitors.

Neither of us speaks much french but we are in the process of learning.
So somewhere tolerant of what will inevitably be our broken french would be nice !

I visited Brittany when I was a teenager and thought it was very pleasent.
Haven't been to Normandy but the house prices there seem very reasonable.

We're also reasonably young (I'm 28 and he is 30) and would love to make friends with other English people.
That's not to say I don't want to mingle with French people, because of course I do.
But I know from experience that sometimes it's nice to meet other expats (was in Austria and Germany for a number of years).

Any advice or help would be excellent

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie on the forum and would be grateful for any input on my current quandary.

My Fiancé and I are looking to relocate to France either Brittany or Normandy as we would ideally like to be not too far from the UK for visitors.

So somewhere tolerant of what will inevitably be our broken french would be nice !

We're also reasonably young (I'm 28 and he is 30) and would love to make friends with other English people.
That's not to say I don't want to mingle with French people, because of course I do.
But I know from experience that sometimes it's nice to meet other expats (was in Austria and Germany for a number of years).

I just wanted to add that neither of us will need to be employed in France.

Therefore we know that we have an advantage over those expats with limited French that may be looking to move and get employed.

·
Administrator
50,411 Posts