Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody!

My name is Serena, I'm italian and I'm seriously considering the idea of moving to the UK.

Let's give you some background :)

I'm 29 years old, I've been working within the hospitality industry since I have memory, I have a bachelor degree in comparative studies and I will graduate from my masters in October.

I live in Sorrento (southern Italy) and I currently work for a local tour operator as an account manager and...wedding coordinator for british couples who come and get married in the Sorrento/Amalfi coast area :)

I am passionate about customer care, most of all in the tourism field, I speak italian, english and russian, I have an IELTS (mark 7,5 on 9, but unfortunately it had only 2 years validity, so it has expired) and a Cambridge CAE (mark A) certificates, ECDL certificate for digital competence, and have spent 3 months in a language university in Siberia, Russia, after winning a scholarship with my university.

Frankly speaking, I'm tired of struggling with the italian job market. I have been working with this company for more than 2 years now, and I'm not happy at all: wages are very low (and, on top of it, I'm paid for less hours than the ones I work for in reality), life/work balance is non existent, I don't see any chance to improve my career, nor to put into practice what I've studied (hard) for at university. I can confidently say that these conditions apply to all the main tourist destinations in Italy.

I was thinking of moving to the UK first of all because there would be no language barrier, then because I think that the hospitality field is still quite florid there and seems to me that professionalism is still valued (on the contrary, in Italy companies aim only to hire interns and apprentices to save on wages).