Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

This is going to sound strange so please bare with me.

My girlfriend (School teacher in the UK), is applying for several International School jobs that are being advertised in the US requesting English school teachers.

My question is: because I am simply "the boyfriend" would I be allowed to accompany her if she was to get any of the jobs she is applying for? These jobs are for an average of 3 yrs with the ability to extend if so required.

I am disabled (paraplegic) after an accident when I was in the British Air Force and therefore I get more than enough money to live on - I would require NO money from the government whatsoever

I am totally new to this so if this scenario sounds ridiculous I apologise in advance.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob

·
Registered
6,370 Posts
This question is neither strange nor new.
Unfortunately USCIS does not consider anything but classic husband-wife married scenario as couple.
Please look into the day-to-day and medical care you require a) is it available at potential geographic locations she is looking at and b) how can you be covered by insurance and to what extend?

·
Registered
3,212 Posts
Hi,

This is going to sound strange so please bare with me.

My girlfriend (School teacher in the UK), is applying for several International School jobs that are being advertised in the US requesting English school teachers.

My question is: because I am simply "the boyfriend" would I be allowed to accompany her if she was to get any of the jobs she is applying for? These jobs are for an average of 3 yrs with the ability to extend if so required.

I am disabled (paraplegic) after an accident when I was in the British Air Force and therefore I get more than enough money to live on - I would require NO money from the government whatsoever