Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am moving to Alicante in Jan to work and wondered about a couple of things that hopefully can be answered

1.Is ONO cable broaddband available in Alicante city or that approximate area, I would like a fast connection as I work in IT and I saw they offered 100MB which I have in the UK.

2. where is a good place to live for a 40 something male working at OHIM looking to experience all that Alicante has to offer?OHIM is inbetween ALicante city and the airport at this address Avenida de Europa, 4, E-03008 Alicante

3. I would like to take my own car initially as I am disabled so would make my life a little easier, so not sure if this has an affect on th eliving location.

any help greatly appreciated as I would like to find a nice place, not too far from the beach but with good links to facilities, I really would like to learn Spanish and enjoy my time is Spain,

·
Registered
2,456 Posts
I take it you don't know just yet where you will be living?

Never fear there is loads of housing available and at a good price but a lot will depend on just what you want, if you want an apartment, to live in a gated community, a stand alone house or a semi detached and most importantly how long would you consider commuting to work?
It's hard to pin one area down but anywhere from Santa Pola, Gran Alacant, Elche, El Campello, San Juan are all good areas to look, and of course Alicante itself.
Checkout idealista.com for what housing is available.

Your car will be useful so I would be taking it as unless you live in Alicante city itself the public transport isn't great, I think there is just a bus that goes to OHIM from the train station in Alicante and you may need to take several connections just to get there depending on where you live. A car is a must I'd say.