Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a citizen of the U.S. I previously worked in France as a younger man and I liked the environment of Paris and Mimizan. Now, older, with the U.S. in "fiscal and emotional lockdown" plagued by religious fanaticism, I am thinking about having options.

I speak French fluently, have some means though not wealthy. I would like to find a suitable rental between Lyon and Paris to determine if a relocation for part of the year would be practical.

I currently work as an R.N. in critical care and may retire in about 10 to 15 years.

J'envoie mes meilleurs voeux chaleureux a ceux d'entre vous qui respondent.

I send my gratitude to those who respond dudes and dudettes

·
Administrator
51,318 Posts
Odd you should mention Mimizan. It was just recently on the tv news (last night or Saturday, I think it was). Check the France1 website for the 20h news if you want to see the old homestead. (I think it was follow-up reporting on the wind and rain storms of a couple of years ago.)

Your options for coming to live in france are going to be a whole lot better if you can find a job here and work for the last 5 to 10 years of your career - that will build you enough credits to be covered for the health system here in your retirement.

The sticking point may be re-qualification as a nurse. The system here for nursing is quite a bit different and though you have the language needed, they may expect you to do considerable re-training. Don't know many of the details, but I do know there was an association several years ago of US qualified nurses who could not work in France due to qualifications issues. Haven't heard of them recently and am not sure of the current situation.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·