Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello people

Firstly this is an awesome community. It has so much resources, that one can read here and apply for themselves for whatever visa they are expecting for.

Now today I had a bitter experience with Engineers Australia. I had filed my Migrations Skills Assessment on 6th March 2015. Tomorrow, it will be 13 total weeks since I submitted. I called them today to en-quire about my status. I applied through Washington Accord.

They told me that my degree was not accredited by Washington Accord and that I have to go through a different pathway i.e. CDR reports.
I know for a fact that my degree is accredited and is also listed on the website. I told the officer regarding this and the officer said that he/she will go through it once again and that the website was not opening. He/She said that they had bookmarked the list of universities that were accredited and did not find it on that list.

Clearly the website could have been updated. I personally feel this is rather carelessness from EA officers. If I hadnt called and enquired, EA officers would have give me a negative assessment rightaway. I still dont know if they are going to give it a negative assessment. There could be other issues too. I will still try my best to give them a proper document that they need.

·
Registered
528 Posts
Sadly. it is a common issue and a friend of mine had faced similar issue. In his case, the university was accredited by ABET but it was situated outside USA. He sent and email prior to submitting an application and explained that it is recognized by ABET but not located in USA, and got a response that he is eligible for Washington accord route. He then got busy and submitted his application after 1.5 months time.