Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening guys.

I have asked a lot of colleagues and researched on several forums but I remain unclear on a few things so i hope you can help.

Heres my situation:

I'm currently a UK resident (have been since birth) and my job involves travel throughout Europe. On 11th Nov my family & I move to France. House is sold and we will live in a Gite for the 1st month while we organise a long term rental.

My employer has insisted that I remain on a UK contract for 2 years and THEN move over to a French one. They are holding off the French contract because of a few of reasons 1) I requested the move 2) It allows them to see if i really like it in france 3) the severance package is much better. Apparently I will pay my taxes in the UK and the company can legally do this for 2 years because I will be on a 'assignment contract'. Apparently they have done their homework and I wont end up paying 2 lots of tax......fingers x'ed!

I assume that everything will be 'as is' in terms of UK PAYE, NI deductions at source etc. I say assume because its all being finalised right now.

If the above situation comes off will it mean I cannot join the French medical system until after 2 years? If so what are the other complications of this ie will it hold up my ability to rent a house or send my children to school?

A colleague told me to look into the E101 and 106 forms but Im nervous of telling either authority about my situation until I know things in full.

hoping you can help...

·
Registered
686 Posts
I imagine that it would be classed as a "posting abroad" - the EU regulations are explained here

EU - Workers on a posting abroad – Formalities, rights and conditions - Your Europe