Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like suggestions/tips to help me with my research.

I'm looking for somewhere to live for a year for my OE.

I'm a foodie, love the city, shopping, being a hermit and isolated, but in a city environment, a bit of a die-hard westerner, big fan of pop art, punk, tattoos, music and culture. I'm an author by trade, but also an entrepreneur and designer. A beach would be a bonus. I'm looking for somewhere with a decent nightlife.

I have both British and NZ passports - would consider America if I thought I could get a VISA.

Don't mind learning a new language, but I don't want to live somewhere where noone speaks English. I really don't like scorpions and political danger.

I would like a city where it is cheap to live and cheap real estate.

Based on suggestions I plan to do some research then visit a few places before I live overseas for a year and think about whether I want to move there more permanently.

Long term rental goal is NZ$150-250/wk (about US$100-200) but I understand if $250/wk is the realistic minimum. I could stretch to NZ$300/wk if I am successful with work opportunities.

I enjoyed Hong Kong but it's too expensive.

I enjoyed Europe but Prague is too cold and a lot of places don't have that city feel.

yes English is my only language.

I do have a decent education (degree in creative writing, level 6 diploma in 2d cartooning, and a college certificate in television, theatre and radio - tv major)

I have some friends in the community support roles and I'm looking at breaking in here at home before moving overseas. My ideal situation is to find a publisher next year and if I can't I'll aggressively approach the jobs I may be eligible for. I'd even consider part time line cook if I can get a job offer.