Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

This is my first post, and I appreciate all the great info that's out there!

I'm American and my boyfriend is French, and we're considering getting PACSed.

We met while I was here on a tourist visa. I am a freelance writer based in NYC. That said, I do not have any sort of long-term visa; but, since I am freelance and mobile, I stay with him in France when I can within the terms of the standard Schengen Visa.

We'd like to be able to allow me to stay without rushing into marriage, and the PACS contract seems like a smart idea for us. However, in all the confusing info I am reading, it seems to state that I need to live with him for a year before we can actually get PACSed.

My question is, how can I do this if I am only able to come in and out of the country on the limited Schengen terms? I don't know how to get around the year thing.

Also, if I did manage to get here, I keep hearing that I can't "work" for a year. I assume this means I can't work in FRANCE, correct? All my clients are in the USA--I hope I'd just be able to continue to work with them. Think this is right? (This is how I would continue to make my income when I am here--I don't anticipate having to work for French folks in France...)

Any help is appreciated! Many thanks.

·
Administrator
50,375 Posts
OK, need to clarify a few things here:

We'd like to be able to allow me to stay without rushing into marriage, and the PACS contract seems like a smart idea for us. However, in all the confusing info I am reading, it seems to state that I need to live with him for a year before we can actually get PACSed.