Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My wife and I are both Australian; I have a dual citizenship (Australian and UK passport), my wife only has an Australian passport. We live in NL (both registered with Gemeente).

We are both not getting paid by the Netherlands. I am a contractor (I work remotely, from home in the NL and my work is in Aus).
My wife has been awarded a research grant and she has a desk at Erasmus Uni, BUT she is completely paid by her employer in Australia. After 2 years, we must go home.

I was told we both need Dutch BAsic Health Insurance. Then I read that we don't. I paid for health insurance here, then I called and was told that my wife doesn't need it, but I might. They couldn;t even give me a straight answer. Very confusing. I was being passed on the phone back and forth for over an hour, then they hung up.

Found this online: "EU nationals living in the
Netherlands must take out a Basisverzekering basic health-care plan with effect from the
date when they settled in the Netherlands. An exception is made to this rule for those who
receive income on which they have to pay social security contributions abroad

Now I am paying 120 Euro's a month for mandatory health insurance, even though I pay tax/superannuation back in Australia.

I would very much appreciate any advice/ information.

Is anyone in a similar situation?

Thanks kindly, in advance. Adam

·
Registered
11 Posts
Adam,

I am Dutch expatriate in Shanghai, China. I have Australian clients in China.

So I am familiar with The Netherlands and also your status and superannuation schemes in Australia.

The basic rule about the mandatory health insurance is everyone who lives or work in The Netherlands. So based on this rule you both need mandatory health insurance.