Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am interested in retiring in Tijuana/Rosarito Beach.

My questions are:

How big a hassle is it to bring a car into Mexico from the US? How much is Mexican Car insurance? How big a hassle is it to get your Car Bond money back?

Can you use a T Mobile Cell phone or a Tracfone in Tijuana/Rosarito?

How hard is it to get a 180 Day visa? Do you renew every 6 months or if you are retiring in Mexico can you get a permanent visa?

How hard will it be to get work to supplement my retirement?

My background is practicing entertainment law. I also have experience booking bands. I would like to work booking Nashville artists in Baja and Southern California.

I will be spending a vacation week in Rosarito Beach from 12/20/13 to 12/27/13.

I am interested in meeting up with ExPat Retirees to get info on retirement in Mexico.

:wave:

·
Registered
6,720 Posts
All of those topics are discussed thoroughly on this and other forums. However, you may find Baja a completely different world than the rest of Mexico; a world few of us understand or are able to explain, as it does not seem much like Mexico to most of us. So, maybe some Baja residents cozied up to the US border, for whatever reasons, will answer you.

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
There is no TIP for Baja hence no deposit, go on line for an insurance quote for Baja only...

You can retire in Mexico if you can show you get a pension of about $1950 a month and can show 6 months bank statements showing that...
Thousands of Mexicans cross into the USA every day looking for jobs and you are looking for work in TJ.......
Is your law degree from Mexico and do you speak fluent Spanish?

It is easy getting an FMM or 180 day tourist permit but do the math,if you renew every 6 months you would be illegal for a few days...

·
Registered
79 Posts