Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow members,

I have initiated the process of my Canada immigration, IELTS done, Spouse IELTS done and now I am awaiting mine and Spouse's ECA to create EE profile.

However, one issue is troubling me... And I am unable to get a satisfactory reply/response from any reliable source.

I would like to know ....HOW and WHEN can I take FUNDS from my foreign bank account (Indian bank in my case) to Canada without having to pay any TAXES on it.

I am an Indian professional, employed in the Middle East for almost 7+ years. Within these years I have accumulated a sizable amount of saving which is generated from my TAX FREE Gulf income.

Part of this saving is in the form of Fixed Deposits and Part of it in Mutual Funds in India. I intend to take all this savings along with me to Canada....and then would like to utilize it for down payment for purchase of new house in Canada... Or something similar use.

I have tried to do a lot of reading on this topic....but didnt suceed ...All I could know is, you are not supposed to pay any Taxes for the Settlement funds that you bring along with you on your First Landing. Once you have landed in Canada, you CAN still transfer/bring in your funds from your foreign banks, as much as you want, but you would have to pay TAX on those funds.

I, don't want to pay any Taxes on this Savings of mine which is generated from my TAX FREE Gulf income.

What are the options available for me????

Will I have to Carry All my money (200k + Cad$) along with me while I land in Canada for the first time????

If yes....How do I carry these funds????

Please throw some light on this out of your valuable Experiences.

Thanks in Advance.

Cheers

DPS

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
1). Canada does not tax settlement funds.