Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

First of all, I must say I am so glad to have found this forum :)

I would like to know if I have a good chance of finding and landing a job in the media industry in and around Jo'burg. I am studying journalism (finishing next year) and really want to be involved in feature writing.

I currently live in Sydney (born and raised) but my boyfriend lives in Jo'burg. I was thinking of living in SA for a while after I graduate to work in anything in the media industry, just so I can work my way up and gain experience and eventually land a stable job. I have been searching online (e.g. bizcommunity, gumtree) and compared to Sydney listings, they have extensive search results for media jobs, which surprised me. You would never get that in an Australian job search engine, and never would you get so many results for jobs targeted directly at students.

From that, I assumed that it would be reasonably easier to get into the industry in SA than Australia. Is the media industry in SA competitive to get into? Would it be hard to land an internship or casual/part-time job in media just with a journalism degree and a portfolio of a few published works? (I have just started writing for an online magazine).

I do not speak Afrikaans, so would that be a major setback for me? Or is fluent English good enough?

Thanks for your time,
Marissa

·
Registered
141 Posts
Hi marissa