Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, wondering if anyone can help me at all, I am a psychologist registered in Australia, but completed by degree in the UK, but am moving back to the UK permanently, and I'm wondering if anyone knows what registration as a psychologist in Australia counts for in England, if anything...and where are good inroads into looking for jobs?

·
Registered
39,149 Posts
Hello, wondering if anyone can help me at all, I am a psychologist registered in Australia, but completed by degree in the UK, but am moving back to the UK permanently, and I'm wondering if anyone knows what registration as a psychologist in Australia counts for in England, if anything...and where are good inroads into looking for jobs?
Read Applicants from outside the UK | BPS.
Basically you have to demonstrate equivalence to UK qualified psychologists and show evidence of professional competence, assessed by a Committee of Scrutiny to achieve Chartered Psychologist status, which is necessary to practise in UK. Depending on outcome, you may have to do supervised practice, write a few essays or take a further qualification in UK. Each case is assessed on its merit so there is no 'one-size-fits-all' answer. From what I gather, the process isn't straightforward but time-consuming and frustrating.

There is a demand for well-qualified and experienced clinical and other types of psychologists within NHS, in public services, in industry and in private practice.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
overseas fees status

Thank you for that. Yes, I fear that because my internship was completed outside of a uni it is unlikely the BPS or HPC are going to recognise the experience I've done!